Communication Objectives

My article is about a street party held in Quezon City, Philippines in honour of Earth Hour, to make a statement about the purpose of Earth Hour: to draw attention to the various environmental issues our planet faces everyday. Aside from the obvious message about the protection of our environment conveyed by the article, I also intend for my final submission to communicate the fun, enjoyment, and “party mood” felt by the people involved in the street party.

In order to convey the message about the conservation of our environment, I intend to have a female model be the subject of my image and have her play the character of “Mother Nature”. I will have her dressed in loose, elegant garments to depict her as an ethereal being. She will be wearing a crown of flowers on her head, with smaller flowers braided into her hair, and the image of planet Earth superimposed onto her clothes, in order to depict her connection to nature.

In order to express the “party mood” of the event described in the article, I will use bright colour contrasts and active movement in my image. I will have “Mother Nature” dancing to herself in joy in the centre of the image, and have bright colour contrasts in the background of the image to make it appear as if she is at a party. It will appear as if Mother Nature is dancing in joy because people are raising awareness about the environment and taking steps to protect it, and thus protecting and respecting her. This then communicates the message of protecting our planet for future generations, as well as the happy, fun “party mood” felt by the people involved in the street party featured in the article.

4 thoughts on “Communication Objectives

  1. Your communication objectives seem really clear and your concepts sound like they will be very clear and effective!
    I like the concept of using bright colours and movement to convey the ‘party atmosphere’ you want to create. The image of your ‘mother nature’ figure could work really well aswell. I like the idea of superimposing another image onto her clothes.

    Like

  2. I really like the article that you have chosen Angela! It’s quite a subtle idea to convey which could prove difficult but I think that what you’re talking about with different colour and light manipulations this subtle message will show through well. You might need some more nature symbolism or something specifically relating to the earth hour idea to really solidify the idea in the image but you’re ideas so far sound good and I like that it’s a topic quite different from most of the other issues that have been picked for this assignment!

    Like

Leave a comment